2018 PDL XVI: U.K. Defeats U.S.A 20.5-19.5 in Barn Burner at Sunningdale and Royal St. George’s

The 3rd International Ponce Matches was contested May 30-June 3, 2018 in England at Sunningdale Golf Club, Princes Golf Club and Royal St. George’s.


Co-Chairs and Team Captains: Dom Clive and Wes Battle

British MVP: Dom Clive

American MVP: Scott Winn

Spirit Award Winners: Francesco Grana and Henry Crofton (U.K.) and Scott Winn (U.S.A.)

Wooden Spoons: Dan Gilbane (U.S.A) and Jamie Gibbs (U.K.)




Royal St. George’s will host the 2017 British Amateur Championship and the 149th Open Championship in 2020 for the 15th time. Royal St. George’s last held the Open Championship in 2011, when Darren Clarke lifted the old Claret Jug, besting Dustin Johnson and Phil Mickelson to earn the ‘Champion Golfer of the Year.’ In addition to the Open Championship, the Club has hosted the British P.G.A. Championship on five occasions, the Walker Cup twice, a victorious Curtis Cup in 1988, and has been the venue for the British Amateur Championship on no less than thirteen occasions.

J.H. Taylor won the first championship held at Royal St. George’s in 1894. Winners in between Taylor and Clarke include Harry Vardon (1899, 1911), Jack White (1904), Walter Hagen (1922, 1928), Henry Cotton (1934), Reg Whitcombe (1938), Bobby Locke (1949), Bill Rogers (1981), Sandy Lyle (1985), Greg Norman (1993) and Ben Curtis (2003).

Sunningdale Golf Club is a golf club in Sunningdale, Berkshire, England, located approximately 30 miles (50 km) southwest of London.

Sunningdale Golf Club was founded in 1900 and has two eighteen hole golf courses: the Old Course, designed by Willie Park, Jr., and the New Course, designed by Harry Colt, which opened in 1923. Sunningdale has hosted many prestigious events in golf, including the British Masters, Walker Cup, Women’s British Open, and The Senior Open Championship. Like many golf courses in Britain, Sunningdale is dog-friendly; canines are very welcome to accompany their owners on the course, provided they can conduct themselves reasonably.

Princes Golf Club has hosted Local Final Qualifying for The Open Championship from 2018 to 2022. Prince’s also co-hosted The Amateur Championship in 2013 and  2017.

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, May 30

1400:  Practice Round at Sunningdale New

Thursday. May 31

1330: ROUND 1 – Four Ball at Sunningdale Old

2030: Opening Ceremony at RAC Club in London

Friday, June 1

0930-1200 – Coach to Sandwich (2.5 hours)

14:30 –  ROUND 2: Four Ball at Princes Golf Club in Sandwich

Saturday, June 2

0930: ROUND 3 – Foursomes at Royal St. George’s

1430: ROUND 4 – Singles at Royal St. George’s

2030: Champions Dinner at RSG (Black Tie)

Sunday, June 3


The Field (16 v. 16)

The United States Team

Jeremy Bird
Scott Winn
John McAllister
Patrick McManamy
Muscoe Garnett
Isaac Morton
Neil Thomson
Jamie Rankin
Westray Battle
Michael Palmore
Clark Coulbourn
Clay Thomson
Dan Gilbane
Chris Harrick
Kirk Bedell
Bill Wainscott

The United Kingdom Team

Bilal Ismail
Henry Finnegan
Rupert Finch
Nick Garrett
Jonny Bates
Ian Thompson
Andrew Carroll
Ali Spry
Jamie Gibbs
Francesco Grana
Dom Clive
James Biddle
Richard Moger
Toby Davidson
Henry Crofton
Brooke Short


Tournament Players Guide (PDF)

Invitation Letter (PDF)