2011 – The Greenbrier – The Garnett Brigade Wins


PDL LogoTournament Summary

The Garnett Brigade Wins Ponce IX
Garnett, Bird, Wainscott & Klim Champs At the Greenbrier

Garnett Brigade – 14.5
Stonewall Brigade – 10
Grey Ghosts – 8.5
Red Numbers – 5

Garnett – MVP / Captain
Oakey – Spirit Award Winner

JULY 7-10, 2011
The Greenbrier, White Sulphur Springs, WV
The Snead Course, Greenbrier Meadows Course, the Greenbrier Course
Chairman – Clark Coulbourn

Chairman Coulbourn brought the Ponce to the Greenbrier, and immediately the Ponce felt like home, joining Sea Island as a home site for future Ponces. Henry Oakey played in his first Ponce here. Read his “application letter” to Neil that he wrote in 2008.



Click here to view and download all the photos from Ponce IX

The boys of the 2011 Ponce IX at the Greenbrier – thanks to Chairman Coulbourn!

Palmore and Chairman Coulbourn at the Champions Dinner – Jerry West Steakhouse

Champion Klim drinks from the fountain of Youth Cup

Battle and Thomson halved a great Sunday singles match.

Richard Massie, Wes Battle and Neil Thomson (The Red Numbers)

Grey Ghosts – Henry Oakey, John McAllister, Michael Aide and Clay Thomson

The Garnett Brigade are Champs – Muscoe (MVP/Captain) John Klim, Jeremy Bird and Bill Wainscott

Dorothy Draper’s designs entertain the Ponce crew.

John Klim, Jeremy Bird and Wild Bill Wainscott

Runners-Up the Stonewall Brigade – Scott Winn, Michael Palmore, Clark Coulbourn and Jamie Rankin

3rd Place Grey Ghosts – Michael Aide, John McAllister, Henry Oakey and Clay Thomson

Chairman Emeritus Neil Thomson addresses the boys at the opening ceremony at the Greenbrier

John Klim, John McAllister, Scott Winn and newcomer Henry Oakey gather before the Opening Ceremony.

Muscoe Garnett was your MVP and team captain of the victorious Garnett Brigade

Like out of a novel – the Miss West Virginia pageant was sharing the Greenbrier with the Ponce.

Clark Coulbourn, Michael Palmore, Jamie Rankin and Scott Winn on the 18th Hole at the Greenbrier.

The Garnett Bridade’s Jeremy Bird and Muscoe Garnett fill up the Fountain of Youth Cup.